COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council on Friday, 19 May 2023 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

Present: Councillors Abbott, Ball, Baker, Begg, Bevan, Bradshaw, D. Cargill, Carlin, Dennett, Dourley, Fry, Garner, Gilligan, Goodall, Harris, S. Hill, V. Hill, Hutchinson, Jones, Leck, M. Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, C. Loftus, K. Loftus, Logan, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, McDermott, A. McInerney, T. McInerney, Nelson, L. Nolan, P. Nolan, Philbin, Polhill, C. Plumpton Walsh, N. Plumpton Walsh, Ratcliffe, Rowe, Ryan, G. Stockton, Stretch, Skinner, Teeling, Thompson, Thornton, Wainwright, Wall, Wallace, Wharton, Woolfall and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Bramwell and Davidson

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, S. Wallace-Bonner, S. Young, K. Butler, G. Ferguson and W. Rourke

Also in attendance: 19 members of the public

Action

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by Councillor Polhill and seconded by Councillor Angela McInerney:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Val Hill be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

Moved by Councillor Tom McInerney and seconded by Councillor Paul Nolan:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Kevan Wainwright be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR VAL HILL IN THE CHAIR

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of Council held on 8 March 2023, having been circulated, were taken as read and signed as a correct record.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no Mayor's announcements.

COU4 LEADER'S REPORT

There was no Leader's report.

COU5 MUNICIPAL ELECTION RESULTS 2023/24

Details of the Borough Council elections held on 4 May 2023 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

COU6 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 16 MAY 2023

The following results of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU7 LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2023/24 and Councillor Dave Thompson be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

COU8 BOARDS, COMMITTEE AND PANELS

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees and Appeals Panel be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2023/24:-

Executive Board (10)

Councillors Wharton, (Chair), Dennett, Harris, M. Lloyd Jones, J. Lowe T. McInerney, Nelson, P. Nolan, Thompson and Wright.

Health & Wellbeing Board

Councillors Wright (Chair), J. Lowe, T. McInerney and Woolfall.

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chair), Philbin (Vice Chair), Bradshaw, Hutchinson, Leck, Logan, A. Lowe, A. McInerney, N. Plumpton Walsh, Thornton and Wainwright.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dourley (Chair), Baker (Vice Chair), Begg, Davidson, Fry, Garner, Goodall, C. Loftus, L. Nolan, Stretch and Thornton.

Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Woolfall (Chair), P. Lloyd Jones (Vice Chair), Abbott, Ball, Hutchinson, K. Loftus, L. Nolan, M. Ryan, Skinner, Stockton and Thornton.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chair), Teeling (Vice Chair), Ball, Garner, S. Hill, Hutchinson, C. Plumpton Walsh, M. Ryan, Rowe, Stretch and Wall.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Logan (Chair), C. Plumpton Walsh (Vice Chair), Baker, Begg, Goodall, Jones, P. Lloyd Jones, McDermott, Rowe, Ryan and Skinner.

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors N. Plumpton Walsh (Chair), Carlin (Vice Chair) Baker, Bevan, Bramwell, Cargill, Goodall, A. Lowe, Ratcliffe, Skinner and Wallace.

Development Management Committee (11)

Councillors S. Hill (Chair), Leck (Vice Chair), Bevan, Carlin, Davidson, C. Loftus, Philbin, C. Plumpton Walsh, Polhill, Thompson, Woolfall.

Audit and Governance Board (11)

Councillors Polhill (Chair), Wall (Vice Chair), Abbott, Begg, Bevan, Bradshaw, Dourley, Gilligan, McDermott, N. Plumpton Walsh and Wallace.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors Wallace (Chair), Abbott (Vice-Chair), Bramwell, D. Cargill, Dourley, Fry, K. Loftus, A. McInerney, Stockton, Teeling and Wainwright.

Mayoral Committee (5)

Councillors Dennett, V. Hill, Gilligan, Philbin and Wright.

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Wharton (Leader), Thompson (Deputy Leader), Dennett (or another portfolio holder as selected by Leader), McDermott (or a Chair of a PPB, selected by Leader) Ratcliffe and Bradshaw.

Scrutiny Co-Ordinator

Councillor McDermott.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

COU10 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEE

RESOLVED: That Mr David Wilson be re-appointed as the non-voting Healthwatch Halton Co-optee to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

COU11 APPOINTMENT OF OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Chief Executive, regarding the appointment of Members to serve on various Outside Bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to Outside Bodies in accordance with the tabled document.

COU12 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following Portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2023/24:-

Leader – Overall Leadership and Corporate Strategy, Communications and Liverpool City Region matters – Councillor Wharton

Deputy Leader – Leadership on Cheshire Sub-Regional matters and Major Projects – Councillor Thompson

Corporate Services – Councillor Dennett

Children and Young People – Councillor T. McInerney

Adult Social Care - Councillor J. Lowe

Health and Wellbeing - Councillor Wright

Community Safety - Councillor M. Lloyd Jones

Environmental & Urban Renewal – Councillor Nelson

Employment, Learning & Skills and Community – Councillor P. Nolan

Climate Change - Councillor Harris

RESOLVED: That the Portfolios be noted.
COU13 UPDATES TO COUNCIL CONSTITUTION 2023 (MINUTE

EXB 107 REFERS)

Executive Board had considered a report of the Operational Director – Legal and Democratic Services, which sought approval of a number of changes to the Council's Constitution.

RESOLVED: That Council approve the revised Constitution, including the matters set out in Appendix 1, attached to the report.

Operational
Director, Legal
and Democratic
Services

COU14 CREATION OF CAFE FACILITY AT PICKERINGS PASTURE (EXB112 REFERS)

The Council considered a report of the Operational Director – Community and Greenspace, which sought approval of a revision to the Council's Capital Programme, to fund the construction of a café facility at Pickerings Pasture Local Nature Reserve.

RESOLVED: That

- the proposal to open a café facility at Pickerings Pasture Local Nature Reserve which would be operated as a franchise opportunity, as outlined within the report, be approved; and
- Operational
 Director
 Community
 Green Space

&

2) £520,000 be included within the Council's Capital Programme to fund the construction of the café facility.

COU15 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced her intention to attend a Civic Service at St Basil and All Saints Church, Hough Green Road, Widnes on Sunday 25 June 2023 starting at 9.45am.

Meeting ended at 6.55 p.m.